Home > Uncategorized > Finding My Way: Thoughts before the New Literacies Institute

Finding My Way: Thoughts before the New Literacies Institute

I’m heading off to Boston today to attend the New Literacies Institute hosted by the Massachusetts Department of Ed, and run by NC State’s New Literacies Collaborative.  I have to admit, up until this week I didn’t know anything about the New Literacies Collaborative and the work they were doing.  I’m excited to learn more about their work, but I’m even more excited to see how it will connect to my classroom.

I’m also a little bit nervous.  I’m not exactly sure why, but there is this little niggling fear under the surface.  Maybe it’s because I don’t know exactly what will be expected of me, or maybe it’s because I don’t know how it will be put into practice once I get back to school in the fall.   While it’s great to be sent to a conference to learn more about something I find exciting, I’m also going to come back as a resource for my peers.  Maybe that’s what’s making me nervous, being a guide while I’m still finding my way.  It’s a big responsibility.  I work with teachers who are ready for change, but they still believe that using technology takes away from their time with the curriculum.   What I do and how successful I am will shape the attitudes of those who are on the fence.   Since they can’t be at this seminar, it will be up to me to give them a gentle shove.

The funny thing is, I’m enjoying this feeling, the balance of excitement and fear.  It shows that I’m ready to learn something new.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

